Sunday, November 8, 2026
artificial-intelligence

Manus raises $500m after Meta deal is unwound

What the reported Manus financing establishes, how it follows the unwinding of the Meta deal, and which valuation and spending details remain undisclosed.

BlockRadar News editorial desk Based on reporting by Decrypt
Manus AI Startup Secures $500 Million After China Blocks Meta Acquisition cover image

Funding after the Meta deal was unwound

Manus parent Butterfly Effect raised more than $500 million, according to Decrypt’s October 8 report. The report says Boyu Capital and IDG Capital led the financing. It does not give a valuation for the completed round.

The distinction matters: a previously reported fundraising target is not a disclosed deal valuation. Nor does the funding announcement establish how the proceeds will be allocated.

Acquisition and independent operations are separate events

Decrypt describes an acquisition announced in December 2025, an order to unwind it in April 2026, and Manus announcing a return to independent operations in August. The financing followed that sequence; it was not simply a pending offer that failed to close.

For readers evaluating the company, ownership changes, funding and product availability answer different questions. Raising capital alone does not establish product reliability or guarantee that a particular service will remain available.

What the financing report leaves open

The reported amount is evidence of financing, not a forecast of returns. The valuation and a detailed spending plan were not disclosed in the cited report. This article makes no independent assessment of the company’s finances or its products.

Questions for readers comparing AI vendors

A funding announcement cannot answer whether a particular workflow is available, what permissions it requires or how a provider handles account data. Those questions need current product documentation rather than an inference from the size of a financing round.

For this story, keep three records separate: the reported financing, the chronology of the ownership change and the current terms for using the product. A change in one record does not establish a change in the others. The cited funding report is not a product test, and this article does not present it as one.

Editorial correction, October 31, 2026: Clarified the acquisition chronology and removed unsupported claims about enterprise deployment, procurement and investor strategy. The original publication date and URL are retained.

Key takeaways

  • Decrypt reported more than $500 million raised by parent Butterfly Effect.
  • The cited report did not disclose a valuation for the completed round.
  • The article distinguishes reported facts from conclusions the evidence does not establish.

Questions

What amount was reported?

Decrypt reported more than $500 million raised by parent Butterfly Effect.

Was a valuation disclosed?

The cited report did not disclose a valuation for the completed round.

Provenance

Published
October 8, 2026
Editorial timestamp
Oct 31, 2026
Original source published
Oct 8, 2026
Original report
Decrypt
Editorial Standards
A news summary based on the sources linked above. Some outbound links are partner links. Editorial policy.

More on this topic